Socialhood

Join Today!

Socialhood is an online community that promotes socially inclusive engagement for people with developmental disabilities and a collaborative platform for the families that support them.

People with developmental disabilities can use Socialhood to find other people with like-minded interests and engage with them in a safe and secure environment.

Families and supporters of people with developmental disabilities can use Socialhood to be matched with other families to share ideas, set up social activities or even plan housing arrangements.

The opportunities are endless in our neighbourhood!

Comments

Transition Planning Study

Are you a young adult, or the parent of a young adult with an exceptionality or disability? Did you or your child recently finish high school?

I am a teacher with the Ottawa-Carleton Board of Education and I hold specialist qualifications in special education. I am also a Ph.D student at the University of Ottawa. My doctoral research will focus on young adults with intellectual disabilities as they transition from secondary school to the next phase of their lives.

I am looking for volunteers to take part in a study of the experiences of transition planning in Ontario high schools. Participation would involve taking part in a one hour interview that would be scheduled at a time and place that best suits you.

For more information or to volunteer for this study, please contact me at kisac015@uottawa.ca

Apartment sharing

Clean, sports-loving, friendly guy with Down Syndrome looking to share his apartment.
Hi, my name is Corey. I have a very nice, clean, furnished two-bedroom apartment, and I am looking for someone to share this apartment with me. My place has a small kitchen, a dining room, a stylish living room with balcony, and an extra 9’4”x12' unfurnished bedroom. The building also features indoor and outdoor pools. It is located next to the Carlingwood Shopping Centre, with good access to OC Transpo bus services. The #87 bus runs directly from Carlingwood to Algonquin College and to the University of Ottawa, and links to the O-Train to Carleton University.
My family would like to sub-let the second bedroom in the apartment to someone who is looking for a great place to call home, and who would appreciate a friend with whom to watch the occasional hockey game. I would like someone to share the rent and the day-to-day chores around the apartment. If you enjoy talking ghosts or sports statistics, or like to be challenged to a PlayStation game every now and then, all the better. If you like watching sports or shows like the Curse of Oak Island (or anything else interesting), and are a nice, calm, non-smoking person looking to live in a safe and happy home, this could be the place for you!
I don’t need a caretaker – I am 36 years old and I have been living here by myself for almost a year. Also, I have my family, who support me and who live close by. I am often busy working, volunteering, or having fun with friends, family, or my support worker.
You should be comfortable with people with disabilities. If you also have a disability, we will be happy to welcome you. We will expect that you will have a good measure of independence, with some activities to fill out your week, and that you will have your own support network.
Your rent would be $600/month, which includes heat, hydro, Rogers landline telephone, Internet access, and cable TV. There are laundry facilities (coin operated) in the building. First and last month’s rent to be paid when you sign the lease. You must be willing to provide references, including a criminal record check, and be able to meet for an interview with me and some of my family. We are looking for a minimum commitment of one year, including an initial trial period of three months.
If you are interested, or if you know someone who would be interested, then get in touch with us, at s.d.hill@sympatico.ca.
I look forward to meeting you!

Another U7 Solutions - Web-based solutions to everyday business problems. solution.